Soosck

GNU/Linux

Learning Python in Three Days. Is it Possible? (UPDATE: Maybe)

with one comment

Dive Into PythonThe good news is that I’ve got the whole weekend off. Instead of wasting my time watching movies and lazing around I’ve decided to take a leap of faith and do something exciting: Learning Python. It seems to be a damn exciting programming language which offers a great deal of versatility suitable for everything from Linux administrative tasks to web programming.

My programming knowledge is quite limited at this time and is basically constrained to some articles I’ve read here and there about more traditional programming languages. However I’m very passionated about learning Python and I think it’s going to be an amazing introduction to practical programming world.

The textbook I’ve chosen for my weekend crash course is “Dive Into Python”. It seems to be exactly the same sort of book I’m looking for: challenging, thought-provoking, straight to real stuff. I will update about my progress in the next three days.

Wish me luck!

UPDATE: Day 3 (Sunday, Feb 6): Well, I went through the first 10 chpaters of the book(18 chapters in total). It’s not the best that one can do yet I’m quite happy with my progress since the book is farily challenging. I will continue reading the rest of chapters in the next days in my free times. Python is beautiful!

Written by Woody

February 3, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Posted in Python

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. im curious what would you think about the http://rebol.com programming language if you found python already “really exciting”…

    Tamas Herman

    February 3, 2011 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

